SCBWI Oklahoma Spring Conference Blog Parade

blog parade banner 2018

I am so stoked to announce the 2018 SCBWI Oklahoma Spring Conference Blog Parade!!

blog parade blogger picsWe have a great lineup of bloggers this year and I am honored to be the first out of the chute. Our other volunteers are Holly Abston (hollyabston.com), illustrator of two children’s books (Mila Denton’s Worst Week Ever! and The Night the Mice Sang); Sonia Gensler (soniagensler.com), award-winning author of young adult and middle grade novels (The Revenant, The Dark Between, and Ghostlight); Jennifer Latham (jenniferlatham.com), author of two young adult novels (Scarlett Undercover and Dreamland Burning); Valerie R Lawson (valerierlawson.wordpress.com), who writes young adult and middle grade, volunteers as social media coordinator for SCBWI Oklahoma, and runs the successful twitter chat #okscbwichat each month; Mariana Llanos (marianallanos.com), award-winning author of six books for children (A Superpower for Me, No Birthday for Mara, Tristan Wolf, A Planet for Tristan Wolf, The Wanting Monster, and The Staircase on Pine Street); Barbara Lowell (barbaralowell.com), award winning author of three nonfiction books (Daring Amelia, George Ferris: What a Wheel, and Engineering AT&T Stadium) plus nine forthcoming books for children; Gaye Sanders (gayesanders.com), author of one picture book (The Survivor Tree) which debuted in 2017; Doug Solter (dougsolter.com), author of young adult novels (The Gems: Spies Like Me, Skid, Rivals, Legends, Champions, and My Girlfriend Bites); Kim Ventrella (kimventrella.com), whose debut middle grade novel (Skeleton Tree) was published in late 2017; and KJ Williams (booklover1blog.com), author of a forthcoming children’s book (Camp Not Allowed) debuting in February 2018.
blog parade blogger names

Each one of these fine bloggers will be taking a turn writing about our conference through the beginning of April (see sidebar with the specific dates for each blogger).
You can see why I am honored to be part of such a great group!
Make sure to stop by each bloggers site and keep up with all the information about this year’s spring conference (which will be held April 6-7 in Oklahoma City). You can also find out more about the conference by visiting our website (oklahoma.scbwi.org) or checking out SCBWI Oklahoma on facebook, twitter, or Instagram.

 

About SCBWI:

Founded in 1971 by a group of Los Angeles-based children’s writers, the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators is a non-profit, 501 (c)3 organization which is  one of the largest existing organizations for writers and illustrators. It is the only professional organization specifically for those individuals writing and illustrating for children and young adults in the fields of children’s literature, magazines, film, television and multimedia. Several of the most prestigious children’s literature professionals sit on the SCBWI Board of Advisors.

The SCBWI acts as a network for the exchange of knowledge between writers, illustrators, editors, publishers, agents, librarians, educators, booksellers and others involved with literature for young people. As a unified body, the SCBWI acts as a powerful force to effect important changes within the field of children’s literature, promoting new copyright legislation, equitable treatment of authors and artists and fair contract terms.

There are currently more than 22,000 members worldwide, in over 70 regional chapters writing and illustrating in all genres for young readers, making it the largest children’s writing organization in the world.

One thought on “SCBWI Oklahoma Spring Conference Blog Parade

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *